focus: week one

“The moment one gives close attention to any thing, even a blade of grass, it becomes a mysterious, awesome, indescribably magnificent world in itself.”

~Henry Miller

Elizabeth over at retinal perspectives had the wonderful idea for all of us who have chosen a word of the year to make one photograph a week that represents our word.

I haven’t spoken much about my word for 2010 on this blog, but it’s Focus.

This shot was taken at the South Carolina Botanical Garden last week, when I was scoping it out for photo opportunities and discovering that it’s a perfect place for a peaceful, contemplative walk.Β  A fabulous coincidence, actually, as two of my four areas of focus this quarter are photography and fitness, and it’s always easier for me to focus whenever there are flowers involved.

NamastΓ©, y’all!

20 Responses to “focus: week one”

  1. That is a lovely quote and quite appropriate to your word “focus.”

  2. Namaste, indeed. Focus is a good thing for all of us; something I am working on more this year too. Onward we go.

  3. Beautiful shot to represent your word. The quote is beautiful, too, and very true.

    How fun to see such gorgeousness when out walking – makes me soooo jealous! Come on Spring! πŸ™‚

    • Actually, it’s me who’s been saying “come on, spring,” and just last night I told F. that I could almost feel the warm breezes in my hair and the buttery sun on my skin when I picture the spring planting. I long for it so… and that longing just seems to intensify with the bitter cold. I can imagine how you’re feeling, Talon. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the compliment on the photo!

  4. Hello….just wanted to stop by and say thankyou for visiting my blog and leaving a comment….It is so great to see the works of others and meet people in blog land…I simply love it…. I so admire the quote and the the word…FOCUS…..yes…amazing how difficult at times to simply focus! Love the photograph too…photography is awesome….wish I had a better camera but I make do with what I have, just so much to learn.. Will visit again soon…take care

    Reba

    • I’m glad you like it and thanks for the visit! I wish I had a better camera, too. But I figure any camera is good as long as you’re willing to learn what you can from it.

  5. Beautiful shot. I’m interested on how you are planning to explore your word this year.

    • Thanks, sam. I’ll be blogging in much more detail about it over on my other blog (one swaying being) because it fits the topics there better. That’s where I ponder and analyze my artistic and personal development. Usually this blog is strictly garden-related. πŸ™‚

  6. isn’t it just so peaceful in the botanical gardens.
    a lovely~ focused : ) post.
    xoxo

  7. sigh. i think i’m going to have to make a calendar from your photos! loving this one!

  8. Such a perfect photo and quote for your word! I’m so excited to follow along on your photographic journey!

  9. such a great word to describe all the posts you have done recently – you have a great eye for detail in the photos that you take πŸ™‚ Rosie

  10. Hello,

    I absolutely love up close photos such as this one. The details of flowers are just so beautiful. By the way, I found you on Blotanical – Welcome!

Leave a Reply

