tempus fugit

A trick of light and shadow one afternoon created a serendipitous sundial from a simple nasturtium leaf.  It made me long to know how to sculpt, so I could create a replica and have it in stone always.

But even if I had been able to copy it, the real Beauty I glimpsed was only meant to last for those minutes I observed it.  It wasn’t meant to be trapped in stone and could, in fact, never be trapped anywhere.  I knew that and joyfully lost track of time passing while going about my garden tasks, pausing now and then to contemplate the nature-made sundial.

Time flies when you’re having so much fun you’re unaware of time.  For me, that’s often time spent in the garden or wandering in the woods.  For you, it might be any of the millions of human passions and joys to which our souls are attuned.

Whatever those passions and joys are, I wish you more of them than ever before in 2010.  May you spend much of this year completely unaware that time is still operating.

In other words, I wish you bliss.

Happy New Year!

31 Responses to “tempus fugit”

  1. I wish you bliss as well, my friend. Lovely post.

  2. I noticed that you recently joined Blotanical. I urge you to read the FAQs under the Help tab there. You’ll find messages of welcome on Your Plot at Blotanical from other members. Happy New Year.

  3. Thank you, Lynn. Joy to you in 2010 🙂

  4. HI Meredith: LIZA AND JOHN’S GARDEN enjoyed our visit to your blog. Come on over to our place for a visit.
    Have a great day,
    Liza and John

  5. Beautifully said, Meredith. I accept your well wishes with grace and wish you a glorious New Year as well. Here’s to more joy in the garden in 2010!

  6. A beautiful, beautiful post, Meredith. I like the word bliss. Happy Happy New Year 2010!

  7. Bliss – it’s one of those great words. I wish you much bliss, too, Meredith, and F., in 2010!

  8. What a wonderful wish, Meredith. And may you, also find your bliss in the garden, the woods or wherever you may be.
    Peace and love to you!

  9. Ahhh… bliss~
    i love that!
    happy new year, my friend.
    xo

  10. Well crafted post. And marvellous photo!

    Christine in Alaska

  11. What a great picture! And yet, only a picture. No smell. No sound…

    Happy New Year!

  12. Wonderful sundial! You caught a moment, but that moment can last for a long time because of you. Thank you for sharing! Happy New year!

  13. holy cow, this photograph is stunning! and so is the message/i understand the desire to hold temporary beauty in my hand or sight!! and sometimes it’s the gift for just a moment…i wish you amazing bliss too! (found your blog at wish studio). happy new year, beautiful one.

    • Thank you, rachel, for your kind and heartfelt words. I’m so glad you found your way here, and I’ll have to find my way over to your blog, too. (Isn’t wish studio lovely?)

  14. I just discovered your blog via Blotanical and pleased to have done so. I look forward to getting to know you this year… speaking of which, Happy New Year.

  15. Sorry, forgot to say how stunning your header photo is!

Leave a Reply

