flutterby

After this summer, I’m in awe of nature photographers.  This was my best butterfly shot after months of trying.  I could be standing literally inches from the butterfly, and he wasn’t ever fleeing from me, but his natural flight pattern is so floaty and erratic that I’d have a series of blurred photos at the end of his visit.

Doesn’t the interior of that tawny wing look like a character of oriental calligraphy, done in sumi ink, the strokes quick and confident?  I wonder what it says….

“Catch me if you can” would be my guess.

And I’d like to say thank you to everyone for the kind wishes and congratulations on our marriage.  They made me smile.

4 Responses to “flutterby”

  1. I love photographing butterflies because it gives me an excuse to slow down and see them up close and personal and enjoy their delicate strength. You captured this one beautifully – what a lovely shot!

    • Thanks for the compliment, Talon. I didn’t feel my track record was so great when you add up all the failed shots — but perhaps I’ll try to take your perspective on it when I begin to try and capture them next year. 🙂 I like your point of view.

  2. One of the most beautiful creatures ever…

Leave a Reply

