the star

Humble kitchen twine is the undisputed champion of the garden tools and equipment.  Of course, there are lots of tools I would not want to be without:  the rake and the shovel and the scissors, for a start.  But the neatly rolled ball of twine has really proved itself indispensable over the seasons.

Now, when we’re nearly to the point of pulling down some of the temporary structures and removing non-performing plants, I’m grateful for another feature of that utilitarian wonder.  It’s biodegradable.  I bought the kind that’s all natural and organic, not bleached or anything, and I can put it right into the compost pile, along with the plants it’s been supporting all summer long.

Some of the lengths of twine are already beginning to show signs of breaking down — not that they’ve stopped doing their jobs.  No, no, no.  Just that they’re looking a bit worn and decrepit, as though they wouldn’t mind taking a long winter’s nap.

Does anyone else see the little face chomped into the leaf by an insect?  It’s turned slightly on its side.  There’s a little painted white dot directly above and between its eyes, sort of like the symbolic third eye sometimes depicted on the forehead.  See it now?

Funny; isn’t it?

It looks like a kooky smiley face to me, drawn perhaps by a slightly demented person — or a clever bug with limited access to figure-drawing class and a fine sense of humor.  I mean, I know I said I was experiencing the consciousness of bugs in our mutual interactions this summer, but this seems to point to a rather more developed awareness than even I was postulating.

It could also be a very unusual jack-o-lantern design.  I’m thinking of copying the bug on this year’s Hallowe’en pumpkin.  (And no, the pumpkin will not come from the Victory Garden — not nearly enough space for those wonderful, rambling vines.)  It’s almost postmodern:  simple & childlike, yet strong and purposefully deconstructed.  Also, goofy and awesome.

This bug is one sophisticated designer.

What do you all think?  Natural coincidence, more evidence of the fairies visiting the garden when I’m not looking, or Exhibit A for the question of the consciousness of insects?

Or perhaps incontrovertible proof that I’ve spent a little too much time communing with the things that live in the garden lately?

3 Responses to “the star”

  1. This kind of twine is US-specific. I remember the first times when I was trying to seal some pipes, and I had to use teflon tape. The very common (to me) hemp rope, used for such purposes, is absent in the US. But where it is legal (i.e. the rest of the world), it also plays the role of such kitchen twine.
    What have they been smoking when they banned it altogether?

  2. I love that you find so much joy through your awareness of what many would not take the time to see.

  3. Definitely an artistic bug at work in the garden!

    Twine is a gardener’s friend for sure!

Leave a Reply

