fairy dust

Just a little note to let you know that I might disappear for a bit.  Three days, give or take.  But I’ll poke my head back out on Monday evening, if the Universe cooperates.  I’m making an exception to my post-everyday rule, just long enough for me to go on a road trip and visit my family.  I haven’t seen them for a while, and I’m way more excited to see them than I was to capture an image of this moment in the garden.  And that’s saying something.

I was pretty thrilled to spot this little girl emerging from the depths of the morning glory trumpet, wearing a brand-new belt of fairy dust —  I mean, shimmery white pollen.  But I’m more excited still to be climbing in the car and heading toward my hometown.

I’ll be breaking my own rule.  But it’s pretty easy to violate a rule you made yourself.  Besides, life isn’t about rules anyway.  I think I’ve tasted enough life by now to state that categorically:  Life is not about following rules.

There.  You are free!

(Actually, I wish I could grant freedom to all the world’s people that easily.  Including in the countries where the people are nominally free, yet their minds are shackled.  But I digress.)

I haven’t quite figured out what life is about.  But fairy dust might be part of my working definition.  At least for today.

Leave a Reply

